Does Ludwig Classic Maple = Fab 4?

Reaction score
Hi there!

I'm brand new to this forum, so hi! My name is Christian and I've been playing drums for just over 5 years now. I play in a band called Aviv and I also play at my church.

So I've recently purchased a "Ludwig Classic Maple" according to the online seller. I've come to realize it's not technically a Classic Maple, but a Fab 4. Nowadays, Ludwig classifies Fab 4 as a 22/16/13 kit. However, the one I have is a 24/16/13. I searched the internet for a Classic Maple with my finish, but none exist. It only exists as a Fab 4. The question is, are both equivalent in terms of sound, quality, price, etc? I'm very confused and I'm hoping an expert can give me some answers!

Thanks

Edit: Forgot to add a photo: https://imgur.com/a/slA0a

Reaction score
I think all my sets are fab!
The Fab Four set was a 22-16-13-5x14 outfit in classic maple, wrapped in black oyster like Ringo had.
They made 100 numbered sets.

mfryed2112

DFO Master
Reaction score
Ok, oyster black. I think the Fab Four term was actually over used for a period and any 4 pc was called that but probably not a kit with a 24, regardless, a Fab Four kit is a classic maple kit

K.O.

DFO Master
Reaction score
"Classic Maple" is the name of a particular line of drums. "Fab 4" was the name of a particular outfit (a combination of drums in a specific set of sizes and hardware complement) offered within the Classic Maple series. The Fab 4 sets were meant to (roughly) approximate the set-up Ringo used in the Beatles but the drums themselves included therein were all the standard Classic Maple layup and design.