Drum heads for a newbie

Needmora

Reaction score
Well. I ripped my snare and want to know if there's any difference on the market of drum heads. I am only a student, so I know that there are Evans and Aquarian and a couple more brands, but have no idea if it even matters for the sound and durability which one I choose.

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
Coated Remo Ambassador Batter head
Clear Remo Ambassador Snare Side head
top and bottom

is 1 choice

bongomania

DFO Master
Reaction score
Since you’re new to it, might as well stick with the biggest brand, Remo. There _are_ subtle differences and reasons to choose other brands, but you’re not at that point yet.

Next thing to look at is the construction type, as all the brands have single ply, double ply, ones with dots or rings, etc. When you’re starting out, for a snare you probably should get the basic: single ply, coated, for the top (batter) head. Maybe get one with a dot if you tend to hit hard. For the bottom (reso or snare) side, be sure to get a head that’s specifically for that purpose. They’re thinner than batter heads.

Needmora

Reaction score
I was new too and someone shared this link. It compares the brands and has lots of other info. https://drumheadauthority.com/articles/ultimate-searchable-drumhead-comparison-equivalency-chart/r
Can't open the link
Coated Remo Ambassador Batter head
Clear Remo Ambassador Snare Side head
top and bottom

is 1 choice
I was reading these reviews https://primesound.org/best-drum-heads/ and saw Remo there, but Aquarian pack was in top 3. Is any difference between Emperor and Ambassador for sound. How does it work? Does thickness of the film somehow influence the quality?

Tornado

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Can't open the link