Drum mic virgin! Advice, experience, recommendations welcome

Drumbumcrumb

Reaction score
Hey guys, so I’m wanting to record some drums... (1 snare, 1 rack tom, 1 floor tom, 1 bd) On a budget, but I want to get it right. (Gotta be Sweetwater, let’s say $1k tops with interface and cables. Budget 8 ch. interface is $300, so $500ish mic budget, with leftover for a couple stands, cables)

I’ve got some ideas, but with no experience it’s tough to know what’s the smart route. Here’s some of what I’m thinking:

Option 1: Shure PGA (either Drumkit5 or Studio4) Comes with all the clips and mounts, even the cables are included. Very tempting, but the results I’ve heard are mixed. I’d hate to get it all wired up and then think “meh”. But I don’t need fancy either, so maybe this is just fine?
(how bout CAD Stage 7 - better/worse than PGA?)

Option 2: start with just 1 good bd mic and 1 good ‘other’ mic. I like the Avantone Mondo for bd, maybe the CK-6 for the “everything else” mic (or Audix d6 & i5). Close mics and OH can be bought later, as funds permit

What’s a good mic for the everything else - I’m thinking cardioid large diaphragm condenser, is that right? Or should I be looking at a different pattern?

Option 3: Zoom h5 or h6 with a kick mic + snare mic . I’ve heard some really good recordings with this setup, but also have read some complaints that the Zoom mic preamps suck, you have to crank the gains way up and they sound “far away”

So what to do? If you’re in my shoes, what would you do? Any and all good advice is appreciated, as I’m green.

drums1225

Reaction score
I absolutely swear by (gently) used gear, and this has enabled me to gradually build (through constantly upgrading) my recording capabilities to a level I really shouldn't have been able to afford, on a working musician's salary. Used gear saves you a ton of money, and instead of getting entry level gear, new, you can get better (even pro) quality used stuff.