Drummers Albert King did like

Frank Godiva

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Merle Perkins - "I came back to Chicago in 1980 and I heard that Albert King was looking for a drummer. Now when I was fifteen years old I lived in St. Louis and I used to shoot pool with Albert and he played at a club across the street, so when I heard he was looking for a drummer I went to the rehearsals and he remembered me and so I started playing drums for Albert, but I had also been offered a gig with Lonnie Brooks too.

I had always wanted to play with Albert King because his playing was phenomenal, so I played with Albert and we played Tipitinas and I recorded the show, so I have his shows on my CDs live and then we played in Memphis. He paid $300 a week and he took out income tax and I had to share a room with another guy and you had to pay for your own room with that $300 and so I told the bass player who was the leader of the band that they needed to get another drummer, as I couldn’t stay out there for that money, so I took my stuff and left when we were in Memphis. Now Dion Payton was playing second guitar, so when I quit my late mother took me back to Chicago and that’s when I called Lonnie Brooks and I got the gig with him. I recorded an album with him on Alligator, called Turn On The Night. I played with Lonnie for two years."

Frank Godiva

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Son Seals -

Someone once asked about Albert King, "How can he sing so clean and play so dirty?" No one would have asked that about Seals; his singing and playing were gritty with the everyday dirt of the blues life. "I like to get kind of a nasty tone," he said.

But King was an important model, and Seals shared his habit of lingering over a guitar figure as if obsessed with it, replaying it with slight variations to build hypnotic tension. Guitar World observed that Seals "carves guitar licks like a chainsaw through solid oak and sings like a grainy-voiced avenging angel". That could have described King, too.