Drums for Quick Gig

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
I play with my 11 y.o.'s acoustic guitar group. Bunch of kids from 7 - 17 y.o. and I am a volunteer instructor and the "house drummer." We play surf songs, Americana, blue grass, pop, etc. and it's all acoustic. A few people plug in acoustics but usually no bass.

We have a holiday Christmas gig this Friday but the set is 15-20 minutes only. It's one of those hurry on, through and hurry off gigs. Although I am waiting to hear back from the main instructor to see if there will be a house kit, but it's likely not based on last year's gig. We had a 45 min gig last year and I played a 12/16/20 Rogers vintage kit in silver sparkle. Load in and out was a pain, too.

But if it's a super short gig (maybe 4-5 songs tops), and basically just Xmas songs, I wonder if I should take a full kit at all. Yes, I am feeling lazy! But I was thinking maybe just a set of congas on a stand, a mounted 10" popcorn snare, a tambourine, cowbell & sleigh bells. I could pull it off with a Latin flare, and of course, I'd prefer to not lug a full kit, cymbals & my ridiculous hardware bag (a large Army-type duffle with wheels but easily 75 lbs!).

I played a recent gig with them at an art gallery and I used a 10x14 bass (converted), a snare mounted on top, a ride mounted on top, and just a HH, and it was okay for a small gig, but this will be a large portable stage in a park with 1K+ people so I need to project although we should be miked......

Probably a dumb inquiry, but if anyone has any ideas, I'd appreciate them? Thank you......

Thumper

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I vote for the light percussion ensemble - a conga will cover a lot of territory.

Elvis

The King of Rock'n'Roll
Reaction score