Dual flat ride setup

phobucket

Reaction score
Hi all,

First post here. I'm a bassist (main instrument) and aspiring drummer mostly playing jazz in a piano trio format. I love the Chick/Roy Haynes sound, but also love Paul Wertico double flat ride stuff with Metheny. I was thinking of getting an 18 or 19 inch flat for the left-hand ride and a larger 20 or 21 inch flat for the main ride.

So here's where I have a bunch of probably dumb questions.
Are those two sounds compatible (can I blend a Roy Haynes-ish cymbal with a more modern-sounding flat ride)?
Are there any rules of thumb for blending sizes in a setup like this? For instance, is it better to have a 2" difference in sizes between the two rides, or is 1" fine?
Is it okay to mix lathed and hammered cymbals or are there any other considerations about mixing cymbals?

I'm only aware of 4 flat rides for sale in my area, all of which are a little beyond my price range, so I'm thinking of buying used online, hopefully getting both cymbals for somewhere in the neighborhood of $500-$600.

Thanks for your help!

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
the heavier you go in a flat ride the pingier (unless it's been "distressed" somehow on the top or bottom side)
So weight may be the blending between two factor
two different diameters say 18 and 20 would be nice too still watching the weight. Too low or too high being the extremes)

Seb77

DFO Master
Reaction score
First you need to find one good flat ride for quiet jazz, meaning a light one, for example a 602; not an A Zildjian, most of these are heavy/pingy. Size difference doesn't matter as much with flats a with other cymbals imo. If you are just starting out compiling a jazz cymbal setup I would get a crashable ride (with a bell) to go with that for versatility, maybe a riveted cymbal.

DWSlingerland45

DFO Veteran
Double Platinum Supporting Member
Reaction score