header.nohb.html

Edrums and technique

Bobby

Reaction score
We all know mesh head don't play like regular acoustic heads but do you think they hurt your technique? I'm currently not gigging for personal reasons so most of my playing is on my Roland kit at home. The other night I jammed with some buddies and noticed my chops weren't "up to par". It wasn't drastic or alarming. I just didn't execute like I do when I'm regularly gigging. Anyone notice this in their playing?

S

swarfrat

I'm by no means an expert. I don't think the pads are any worse than a practice pad but.... the cymbals, and hats in particular absofreakinglutely. ESPECIALLY if you're a beginner - you flat out cannot learn good hat foot control on e-hats. Might as well be playing Rock Band for all the skill transferrance you get.

Which is the reason I'm so excited about the Zildjian L80's. I've got electronic pads and the LV38 set for practice. I can practice after the kid is in bed (provided he is actually asleep.) but they're loud enough for unmic'd singing and acoustic guitar volume levels.

RyanR

Underaged Curmudgeon
Reaction score
Dunno if they'll hurt your technique per se..... but you do need to *adapt* a bit when switching between the two.

-Ryan

cochlea

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I've noticed that I've had to change the way I play my electronic hi-hat (Roland VH-12) compared to an acoustic hi-hat to get similar results. I'm pretty much playing my electronic kit exclusively these days so I bet there will be some adjustment if I ever need to go back to an acoustic hi-hat. The same goes for electronic cymbals, especially when triggering the bell on my electronic ride. It's not the same as playing acoustic cymbals. Regarding mesh heads, I can play faster on them than I can on conventional heads. I'm sure this would make a difference if I were to go back to an acoustic kit at this time.

TDM

Yapping Internet Mutt
Reaction score