Elbow pain from ride

MVE

Reaction score
Help, I’m new to drums. Only a few months of learning drums, but a lifelong bass player and musician.
Anyway, trying to keep a jazz rhythm going on the ride seems to leave my right elbow in serious pain.
Am I doing something wrong with my technique? Is there an ideal position and angle I should be trying for?
I think it has something to do with the way I have to point my wrist out farther to the right to reach the ride.
Anyway, any suggestions you might be able to give me would be very much appreciated.
Thank you for your help.

supershifter2

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Your natural reach where its comfortable. This can take take time and involve trying different heights , angles of cymbal and distance from you. There isnt a one position fits all.

Reactions: MVE

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
trying to keep a jazz rhythm
Are you playing along with something? A recording or bass player in the room..
How about putting a nice easy going record on and playing along.

Something from umm 1953.

..and Relaxin'
and letting Your ears...
move your wrist arm hand

comes from the brain
hand is just along
for the Ride

now see
you're playing with your ears.

your ears and brain are (what's moving your hand
not the other way around

protect your brain
: )

(it can wear out too)
(but thankfully, it's usually the last to go
; )

Last edited:

RIDDIM

DFO Master
Reaction score
Help, I’m new to drums. Only a few months of learning drums, but a lifelong bass player and musician.
Anyway, trying to keep a jazz rhythm going on the ride seems to leave my right elbow in serious pain.
Am I doing something wrong with my technique? Is there an ideal position and angle I should be trying for?
I think it has something to do with the way I have to point my wrist out farther to the right to reach the ride.
Anyway, any suggestions you might be able to give me would be very much appreciated.