Evans Drum head quality issues? **Updated Evans response**

natchomamma

Reaction score
I've been using Evans for 20 years. However, I've noticed that I have had several new heads with issues. One of the biggest issues is the aluminum rim. I have received heads where the rim is not circular. It is typically off were the seam/weld joint is located. Also when the ends are welded to gather they are misaligned. Evans was quick to replace them last time, but I'm putting heads on a brand new kit and I'm running into the same issue again. I would think that aluminum rim is critical to getting the head to seat correctly and tuning. Should I be concerned about this or just let it go?
IMG_5816.jpg
IMG_5818.jpg
IMG_5820.jpg

Lee Van Kief

Reaction score
I just bought a 16” Coated G1 that I didn’t inspect while I was in the store. The seam is so misshapen that it wouldn’t seat without some force, and there’s a speck of something under the coating. I’m returning it as soon as I can.

8F2592EA-898E-428B-B8DE-4325341E6DB6.jpeg

LRod1707

DFO Master
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Not to put down Evans but I've read about more QC issues with them than any other head manufacturer. Coating coming apart in pieces and now collar issues. I'd simply switch brands! No reason to accept any of this considering that everyone now makes quality heads. I use Aquarian and have had zero quality issues with any of the heads (and I've bought a lot of heads from them). Aquarian is a smaller company that really takes quality seriously. Even the collars they have on the heads are something else. And as much as I love Aquarian, if they started to have QC issues, I'd go elsewhere too.
Just my 2 cents!!

Matched Gripper

DFO Veteran
Reaction score