Ever go back to where you started?

blueshadow

Just Shuffling along
Staff member
Reaction score
Was in GC about a month ago and there were in the used section my exact set up when I bought my first "good" cymbals....early 90's Zildjian A's 14" new beats, 16" medium thin and a 20" ping ride. I could of been out the door with them all for about $350 which I didn't think was too bad but I didn't need them. I banged on them a little....of course the new beats sounded fine, I still have a set that is similar but not my originals. The 16" MT crash was a good crash not too bright not too dark and cut through fine. Then I hit the ping....good grief what a man hole cover :) I remember not liking mine because I didn't think it had enough definition....maybe my ears were just still working too good 25 years ago lol. It is funny though to think that I've gone through a bunch of cymbals (or just a few compared to some on here) and in a way close to where I started playing just hats, one crash and a ride...though one difference is a 18" crash instead of a 16" and K's instead of A's

drummerfriend

Reaction score
I can sort of relate... I began on absolute junk so I would never go back.

However, I've gone through sooo many cymbals (not too many different drums) and in a way, not too far off where I ended up around 1985. At this point of my life, I've determined with the gear I have (more than some - less than others), nothing else is going to satisfy me any differently than what I have.

Ickybaby

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I started on late 60's-late 70's Zildjians and I've gone back to them.

zenstat

Senior Cymbal Nerd
Reaction score
I started out in the 1960s as a brass player. No going back. I'm in the bronze age now.