FALLING BACK IN LOVE WITH MY OLD KIT

CC Cirillo

Very well Known Member
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Falling in love again with my Sonors, which became sidelined for a few years after I got my new Classic Maples.

They’d been in exile in an old bandmate’a basement, but I picked them up today: Force 3K kit in Scandi birch with matching snare. I want to say from the late 80’s or early 90’s(?)

I know they aren’t anything fancy, just a midline kit, and not the most figured veneer, but German made and stalwart drums they are, with that reassuring birch equalization.

We have some history. This was the kit I played for eight years in what, for me, as an amateur, I consider my first serious band: All original songs so my parts were all mine, and gigs in clubs that had real sound systems with a guy manning the board and —wow!—monitors and stage lights. Sometimes we had a horn section. We recorded in a studio. Thrice. All with those drums.

Love the sound. Love the build. Love the look. All over again.

Perhaps you have a kit where that’s happened.

5D15D602-FFF6-47F4-A353-408F4E3C39E8.jpeg
1B4B7741-6F7D-41A7-9CA9-9DFEE609A5A6.jpeg

Attachments

JimmySticks

Very well Known Member
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Cool story!

Nothing wrong with getting nostalgic over a kit that has such good memories attached to it. But that's one of the reasons I don't want to many kits lying around, they get neglected and unused. Glad you put her back in the rotation.

bolweevil

DFO Master
Reaction score
I totally get where you are coming from. I've only been on three what I would call 'real studio albums' and it's hard for me to part with anything I used on those recordings. I'd hate to hear a well-recorded version of a piece of gear, pine nostalgically for it, and no longer have it! I have parted with a couple of items, but not many, of this kind.

Matched Gripper

Very well Known Member
Reaction score