Fender Squier Vintage Modified Jazz bass

Luddite

Mostly intentional comic relief
Reaction score
I picked up an Epi EB-O bass cheap about five months ago when I was looking to learn how to play. It's a decent little bass but being single pickup is somewhat limited. I've learned my scales, octaves and triads and would like to learn a little of the slap and pop style. On the Epi I can pop but slapping ain't gonna happen.
As I'm a drummer first and foremost, I don't want to sink a ton of money into a bass. I've always liked the looks and sound of the Fender Jazz, but am not interested in dropping a bunch of money on a US made one when chances are I'll only play occasionally at church, if that.
I've heard good things about the Squier Vintage Modified series and wondered if anyone here owns and plays a Vintage Modified Jazz or Precision. If so, what do you think of it. Worth the coin?

drumbum91

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
My neighbor is a bass player and owns a few of the Squier basses. I think he owns a precision and a jazz bass. He raves all the time about how easy they are to play. He owns several American Fender basses, and a Rick. He almost never plays them and always uses the Squier basses. :dontknow:

As far as a hands on comment, I've monkeyed around with a few of his basses and they all play great. They have a great sound too but I think it may be that he just owns nice amps as well.

groooooove

Reaction score
Luddite said:
I picked up an Epi EB-O bass cheap about five months ago when I was looking to learn how to play. It's a decent little bass but being single pickup is somewhat limited. I've learned my scales, octaves and triads and would like to learn a little of the slap and pop style. On the Epi I can pop but slapping ain't gonna happen.