Finally finished 40’s Radio King set

Talktotommy

Reaction score
87419090-8582-44BA-AA09-B2E9D737E6A5.jpeg
I
6CB634F2-68F9-4DDE-873B-CC0BE63512E4.jpeg
Put this together from single drums which was not my initial intention. I picked up the 26 inch bass drum to use in the studio as an option and absolutely fell in love with it. A 9 x 13 popped up shortly after I picked up the bass drum. It was pretty badly yellowed as well as the bass drum but ended up getting it for under $300. Just recently found the two floor toms. 16 x 16 and the other is actually kind of rare 16 x 14 depth.
All drums with the exception of the 16 x 14 floor tom I restored with the lacquer thinner treatment. I’ve never tried it before but worked pretty well on the bass drum and the Tom as the color match was very good. In the end I am happier with the color match than I ever thought I would be-it was my biggest concern. Actually ended up using almond color seem fill on a couple of the drums where there were chips and it worked out great. Can’t notice at all from a few feet away.
I was lucky as all the shells were in very good shape along with the edges. Drums sound great and are a blast to play.
Maybe my favorite kit now!

studrum

DFO Master
Reaction score
Fantastic looking kit! Ready to swing. So cool that the mysterious (to me) lacquer thinner finish matching worked so well. Sure looks like it, anyway.

Browny

Reaction score
View attachment 480695 I View attachment 480696 Put this together from single drums which was not my initial intention. I picked up the 26 inch bass drum to use in the studio as an option and absolutely fell in love with it. A 9 x 13 popped up shortly after I picked up the bass drum. It was pretty badly yellowed as well as the bass drum but ended up getting it for under $300. Just recently found the two floor toms. 16 x 16 and the other is actually kind of rare 16 x 14 depth.