Finally! Finished the 2nd build.

Old Dog

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
So this is a Champagne Drums birch shell with a bubinga veneer. The lugs are Cito lugs from Champagne Drums as well. Very light weight, felt like titanium toothpicks as far as their weight goes. I'm trying to remember the exact specs--but I bought this shell over a year ago. 14x7, 1/2" thick. . .

Super hoops--interesting. I'm a big fan of the DW Mag Throw and 3 pos. butt. Fat Cat 30 strand snare wires.

The first set of pics were taken indoors with flash. Then you see the outdoor pics. I'm a horrible photographer. I have no clue as to how to take good quality pics. But, you get the gist.

Minwax spray lacquer finish. I used a lacquer adhesion spray first. From my "I got the runs" thread, some of you know that I had problems with the finish. I think it looks great now. However it does not shine quite as much as I wanted. I wet sanded a lot of the first coats of lacquer back, to get rid of the runs I encountered. It is SMOOOVE, very nice as far as the feel of the finish. I like the sound. No dampening, a bit of mild sustain/ring. Rather dry. Currently a higher tuning.

Oh, I put a TON of tung oil on this drum to start with. A couple coats on the inside as well. I used nearly an entire bottle on the exterior.

Attachments

Fat Drummer

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Outstanding work!!! That is a super job, I'd be proud to own that myself, thanks for sharing.... maybe a video is next? Again, just a wonderful build!

deegeebee

Reaction score
Very nice! Have been eyeing the Champagne Drums hardware and shells for a while, but not much of a handyman myself for cutting edges, drilling etc. Love the look of his classic tube lugs. Would love to hear this drum, how are the bearing edges/snare beds cut?

Old Dog

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Outstanding work!!! That is a super job, I'd be proud to own that myself, thanks for sharing.... maybe a video is next? Again, just a wonderful build!