Finally I Can Rest Now (citrus mod content)

wflkurt

Deafus Maximus
Reaction score
So this post may sound a little long winded but reading this is nowhere near as time consuming the wait on this set took. Here's a little backstory. I have a very vague memory of being at a jazz band workshop back when I was part of my high school jazz band in 1989. Our school never had a set so some kid that played that day supplied the set and I am probably 95 percent sure it was a Hollywood citrus mod set. I have always been crazy about Ludwig drums but as far as really knowing Ludwig history and collecting vintage drums, that started about 1990 when I graduated high school. fast forward a few years and I run into a kid I went to school with. he was playing a white Ludwig rocker set from the 80's in a punk band with some friends of his. I saw him practice one day and when we start talking drums, he mentions that he has some old funky colored Ludwig set that he's not using because he says it wasn't playable at the time. I keep asking him about it and he tells me that I can check it out at some point. This was probably 25 years ago. I would run in to him occasionally and we would joke about how I was going to acquire those drums and fix them up. At this point I also did really know what finish he had as I was going off his word and the description he had. I have seen sets that were described to me as having a psychedelic finish only to find out they were Ludwig standards. As I would occasionally see this guy(very rarely) I would joke about him keeping the drums out of any water areas or sunlight. This was also way before cell phones so i could never get a hold of him.