Flat rides

JazzyJeff

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I've been playing for 33 years now, and I just played my first flat ride. Still grinning ear to ear! Picked up a 21" Bosphorus Masters and I've never heard such a fantastic stick sound. There is more wobble and shimmying than anything I've ever played! (Keeping it clean here!) 1853 grams

Coming out from under that rock was fun!

Special thanks to "Jazz Turkey" Josh for the inspiration to look into these. I couldn't swing a deal with him for his 21" Bosphorus Masters (in the Swap Section), but checking them out when considering potential deals worked out fantastically nonetheless. It's still available so hit him up with a trade offer!

R

RickP

I have owned a few flat rides and can appreciate them when used in the right situation. Most of the stuff I play these days doesn’t really call for a flat ride so I sold all my flats.

Flats I have owned -
2 x 20” reissue Paiste 602 Medium Flat - maybe the most iconic flat ride ever.
19” Amedia Legend Flat Ride - picked this up at the Chicago Vintage Drum Show a few years back.Very woody stick sound.
18” Istanbul Agop Signature Flat - probably the quietest ride cymbal I have ever heard. Very delicate and pretty.
18” Paiste Traditional Flat - another really quiet flat.

multijd

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I have two right now, a 19” masters and 20” traditional both bosphorus. I wish i still had the 18” & 20” 2002’s that i sold. I also had an A custom 20”. All good cymbals in the right situation. Not the best all the time but often just the right sound fir the moment.

James Walker

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I've got a 20" Paiste Traditionals flat ride that I hold on to just for piano trios. Used it tonight with a piano trio, as a matter of fact.

kb

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
It's a great sound for sure....