Giant logos on drumheads

drumfx

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Remo and other brand logos are getting bigger and bigger. Bass drum logos are personal so that is not what i want to point out. I have been playing drums for 40 yrs+ now and logos never really bothered me (even if i am somewhat of the "anti-branding" kind) as they were discreet but nowadays every drum head looks like a HWY billboard. I have been buying their products for a long time but now the first thing i do when i get new heads, is to remove the logo entirely.

Last edited:

pwc1141

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
At the end of any gig, a survey of the audience would show few who remember what was on the bass drum head ... it doesn't bother me ...
66950950_2422848307949540_2904331579331444736_n.jpeg

vintagedrummersweden

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I once suggested to Ludwig (trough a local distributor) that they should make a front head with a very(!) large keystone badge printed on it.
This would make it possible to cut a vent hole in the place of the vent hole in the "badge".
Would work for blue olive badge too, I think.
Maybe I should try this out with my local printshop...

pwc1141

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Each to his own. Who sees snare and tom heads other than you ? Maybe the Taiwanese made Remo heads have those large logos. Not sure because I use Evans .....

CC Cirillo

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I’m with pwc1141 on this one. The Remo logos don’t bother me on tom and snare heads.

I usually don't look at my heads while playing. If I’m rehearsing with other musicians or playing a show, I’m either entranced if it’s going well, or absorbed if it’s a new piece, or nearly panicked if the band’s over the speed limit and we’re about to tear out some guard rail.

TheBeachBoy

Ringo Fire
Reaction score
I just wish the vintage Emps would follow suit with the vint Ambies' logo. I really like the Amb Classic logo too.