Have you had a "dry spell" of drumming?

Targalx

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Being that some of us don't have access to play our drums at the moment, I was thinking about the last time I had a "dry spell" of drumming. I've been drumming almost continuously since 1984 or so. I say, almost, because I have taken some time off from the kit here and there.

Most recently, it was for almost two years in 2014-2016, where I did not play a single gig (and only rehearsed 2 or 3 times in that span). My drums were all stacked up, in their bags, totally untouched for months at a time.

I had some important stuff going on my life at that time, plus the bands I was in were busy raising kids, so they couldn't really gig/record/jam in that same time span.

I think I did just one quick recording session in late 2014. I remember feeling real under-practiced and out of shape, as I learned the songs off of demos, then went into the studio and hammered them out real quick.

Have any of you intentionally stepped away from the kit for an extended period of time?

equipmentdork

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
After my original band imploded in 1997, I got engaged, bought a house, got married, and even got a new job in 2001. I kept playing to music in my basement. Recorded an album in 2000. Apart from that, and a few one-off gigs, I was a member of no band until 2005. It was hellish. I went on a bunch of auditions and reinforced how flaky a lot of musicians are, and it really soured me on prospects for a while.

Dan

Lazmo

Be excellent to each other...
Reaction score