Heart Breaking Discovery...

Mongrel

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I work in a school district on the maintenance team. While performing said duties I found myself in an elementary 4th-6th grade band\music room. That was when I discovered the following grisly scene... Just a sad day for me.

1. Victim #1 Slingerland... No idea what I am even looking at. Aluminum shell (?) and the hoops are non-magnetic.

Victim #2 Is this a Supra (hey I'm a Rogers guy...)? Brass shell, steel hoops, 10 lug.

Victim #3 Early 7 line Dyna? Clockface strainer with the "D"? Nice fat "ding" where some cherub DROPPED it on a lug...*tears*.

Victim #4 Small stamp 20"....late 50s?

Now I have to find a way to convince the music teacher to let me rescue these guys via trade\cash\bubble gum!

cwdrums

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
+1 on all of the above. Back in my day all the school band instruments had inventory tags on them, something like "Property of Boise School District". My high school band teacher had the authority to sell or give away old instruments (any money on a sale he could use for our band dept. needs). I'm sure if you can get to the right person a deal could be made either in kind or cash donation. Yes, start with the music teacher. Let us know how it turns out.
coy

Mongrel

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Thanks guys... I will try and talk to the guy today.

All of these are being used with the rubber practice oads on them and mixed in with some CB700 snares. The could be banging on phone books and wouldn't knkw the difference.

So what would the value on these be? Considering the Dyna has a bad shell ding, and the general condition of the others?

I am not sure what to even offer....?

$300?

BRIAN

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Not a bad one in the bunch, ain't it amazing how ALL of them have stood the test of time. Good luck on this, keep us up.............$300 sounds like a good starting point to me

El Larry

Very well Known Member
Reaction score