Hello ALL

Ldavis

Reaction score
Hey everyone. Thanks for having me here. I'm fairly new to electronic drums, but I've been playing on and off for about 35 years. I owned 1 electronic kit years ago (Yamaha DTXpress IV Special). It worked great, but I missed the real feel and sound of an acoustic kit. Due to the hereditary hearing loss in my left ear, I recently sold my beautiful 8pc Gretsch kit that had an array of cymbals (mostly Zildjian A Customs) to try and preserve my hearing the best I can. So as of today, I'm waiting on an Alesis Strike Pro to arrive later in the week. It's been about 8 months since I've played and can't wait to get behind a kit again. My only worry is that being a pretty hard hitter, I'll need to change my style and hold back on striking the drums like I would normally on an acoustic kit so that I don't damage the equipment. I know there is no comparison to an acoustic kit, but I realized I'd rather play something vs nothing. So electronic kit it is. Looking forward to talking to you all. Thanks, Larry Davis Jr. New Castle, Delaware

cochlea

DFO Veteran
Reaction score