Help! IDK how to play jazz

JonnyFranchi$e

Reaction score
Experienced jazz cats:

Doing a wedding reception/cocktail-dinner hour piano trio jazz thing. There's 3 weeks practice time with very minimal time to practice and don't know what songs we're playing yet. (We're all friends in the same not-jazz band, but the piano and bass guys are fantastic and can totally roll the jazz like pros). The good news is these are our good friends, and it's a local reception just for close friends. The expectations are low. But I really want to do a good job because, well, they're our friends and I want the music to come off well.

I'm a decent drummer, but Jim Payne's funk drumming - funky pop-rock stuff. VERY rudimentary ability to swing and minimal to no jazz chops.

What kind of CRASH COURSE advice would you experienced jazz cats give me (no time to become literally good, but need to get good at faking it pretty fast here)? Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks

toddbishop

Reaction score
Find a few records with Connie Kay or Kenny Clarke on them, listen to them, try to do that. Play quarter notes on the cymbal, or the regular jazz cymbal rhythm, 2 and 4 on the hihat, catch the occasional & of 3 on the snare drum, don't play the bass drum too loud, don't play too many 1s. Play all the other sounds quieter than the ride cymbal. Learn this page. Play a nice solid quarter note pulse. Play the Philly Joe beat with the rim click on 4, but not all the time. Learn to play a bossa nova, probably-- not too loud. Listen to the other players and relax, don't try to do too much. Try to get a tune list so you've at least heard the tunes once before you have to play them. Good luck.

hardbat

Very well Known Member
Reaction score