Help Picking Out a Snare

Bmusic

Reaction score
New guy here, looking for some wisdom.

I’m also—how shall I put this?—not much of a drummer. I’m a self-taught hobbyist, and father of a dude who drums in his high school jazz band. So I have a decent DW kit in the house, nice set of K’s, etc.

Enough preamble. Down to it: I’m looking to add a snare drum. (I have a Supraphonic and a Pearl Omar Hakim.) A couple years ago, I had a Craviotto 14x6.5 Custom Shop solid maple, which I loved, but sold (along with a nice Brady) in a fit of “why does a dabbler such as I need 5 snares, including a $1300 masterpiece?”

Now I’d like to recreate the experience of that drum at a lower price point, hoping that the $700 or so I shave off the price tag is stuff my novice chops will never miss. By “that experience,” I mean that earthy, woody crack.

Of the features of that beloved Craviotto, what should I focus on replicating? The 6.5” depth? The solid shell? The wood species? The tube lugs?

The answer I fear, of course, is that I will never replicate the experience of a custom shop Craviotto. But I am humbly open to everyone’s thoughts.

Many thanks,
The Wandering Bassist

lrod1707

DFO Master
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score

I’m also—how shall I put this?—not much of a drummer. I’m a self-taught hobbyist, and father of a dude who drums in his high school jazz band. So I have a decent DW kit in the house, nice set of K’s, etc.

Enough preamble. Down to it: I’m looking to add a snare drum. (I have a Supraphonic and a Pearl Omar Hakim.) A couple years ago, I had a Craviotto 14x6.5 Custom Shop solid maple, which I loved, but sold (along with a nice Brady) in a fit of “why does a dabbler such as I need 5 snares, including a $1300 masterpiece?”

Now I’d like to recreate the experience of that drum at a lower price point, hoping that the $700 or so I shave off the price tag is stuff my novice chops will never miss. By “that experience,” I mean that earthy, woody crack.