Hoping Roland will make good... (Rejected Warranty Claim)

Nadraw

Reaction score
Questions to the forum: Am I being unreasonable? Should I expect to have to pay for this? Was I just lucky on the previous units I’ve owned? If so, what a terrible design!

I am super disappointed.

I have been playing Roland for 20 years now. Started out on a TD-6, ending on a TD-30, owning practically everything in between, with intentions of moving to a TD-50 kit mid year. I’ve never had an issue with any Roland product I have owned. I have recommended Roland above all other brands to anyone who may ask my opinion.

On Jan 2nd I bought an SPD-30. 3rd one I have owned. I buy them, use them, sell them, realize I wish I hadn’t sold them, buy another… (currently on my 2nd SPD-SX as well) The previous 2 SPD-30s worked flawlessly, and took an exceptional amount of punishment. I cannot count how many times I got a little carried away with my 5B sticks and sent one of the control knobs flying across the room when I missed the pads all together.

With my latest unit I have been playing exclusively with 7A’s, and with a very light hand. The other evening I was playing and, as can happen, I missed the lower right pad, my stick glanced off the plastic casing and hit the Function Knob #1 (right above the menu button). I was totally surprised when I attempted to change a setting and the knob no longer worked! No big deal, I thought… it is a Roland, that should not have happened… they will fix it.

I thought wrong.