How to play heavy backbeats while playing cross-handed?

stevil

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I've always played open-handed on a kit, ie: I play hihats with my left hand on my left side, snare with my right hand. I'm training myself to be able to play the hats with my right hand. It's going well, but I get mixed up/hit my sticks or arms together when I try to lay into a heavy backbeat on my snare. How do heavy hitters manage to play crossed without encountering this problem? So far I've tried moving my hats as far to the right as possible and also raising them higher. I'm not certain if this is just something that feels weird but will improve with time versus it's something I'm doing wrong and need to correct.

hsosdrum

Very well Known Member
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I've been playing cross handed for 58 years and I still sometimes hit stick-on-stick (or worse, stick-on-hand, as I did earlier today) when playing my hi-hat with my right hand. That coordination stuff's a bee-yatch. Houndog is right, it's all about getting the feel for where the (physical) spaces are.

Philaiy9

Reaction score
I gave up trying to play cross handed and now just don't let the sticks cross. My right hand is in a much more German position now (palm down). My left hand can then hit as hard as I want without any worry about clicking sticks. I picked this up from Keith Carlock, although he only seems to play both ways.

Last edited:

repete

This one goes to eleven
Reaction score
If you’ve always played open then your right hand is going hit a stronger backbeat. Playing cross handed will take practice and more practice until your left hand gets used to hitting the snare as strong as your right, just as if I was learning to play open. My right hand would be weaker. At least that’s what I’m thinking anyway.

stevil

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score