How to play this

Leamordor

Reaction score
Hey guys I just started playing drum and I don’t understand how this one is supposed to sound like ? Can anyone help me :) thanks ! (The 3rd one) it’s actually the double snare and Tom part that I don’t understand mixed with 1 ride

multijd

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I agree with the others. This is notated incorrectly on multiple levels.

Last edited:

60's Drummer

Reaction score
Best i can decipher (which is near impossible) - the top measure is supposed to be 1 & 2 &a3e& 4 &a.
Middle = 1 & 2 &a3e& 4e&a
Last = 1 & 2 &a3e&a4e&a

Written music is an aid to replicating its performance - this is nothing but an illegible hindrance.
Time signatures and proper beaming are both missing.

kb

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Okay, I can see three measures, numbers 2, 3 and 4.

The first two are certainly in 4/4 time, it seems to be a boogaloo beat: "doom - bap, ba doom ba doom bap."

It's beamed incorrectly. The first 8th note should be beamed to the second. The fourth 8th note should be a 16th note beamed to the 16th note on the snare. (The stems are also done incorrectly.)

So, in measure #4, (also beamed incorrectly, also with incorrect stems) the fourth 8th note should be a 16th note, beamed to the 16th note on the snare.

Then the second half of the measure should be four 16ths on the snare, beamed together. Then four 16ths on the tom, beamed together, with all the stems in the same direction.

So measure #4 sounds like: "doom - bap, ba baba baba bubu bubu"

No wonder you're having trouble, this guy doesn't know how to notate music....

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
noteswrong.jpeg

Leave it up there' may attempt to interpret "it" this week if the weather warms up.

Beatnik

Johnson
Reaction score
See if this works lol. That's Rock Beat # ?

Follow link below to hear.

Last edited:

multijd

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
What’s wrong with it ?