How to record

RockrGrl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2019
Messages
182
Reaction score
135
Location
Vancouver, WA
I want to be able to start recording my Roland TD-30. I have done some recording in the past, by plugging the headphone out 3.5mm jack into my 'Line-in' jack on my Mac the using my DAW's either Audacity or Garageband.
I'm going to get Reaper to replace the DAW's I currently have.

So tell me how is everyone else doing it?
 

bpaluzzi

DFO Veteran
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,822
Reaction score
2,864
Location
SF Bay Area
My signal is:
1. L/R main output from module into a stereo DI box.
2. 2x XLR from DI box into audio interface (UAD Apollo)
3. Thunderbolt cable from audio interface to Mac
4. Record in DAW (Luna / Ableton / Logic / etc.)
 

bpaluzzi

DFO Veteran
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
1,822
Reaction score
2,864
Location
SF Bay Area
thanks very much! Do you use VST with your DAW's?

Sometimes -- in that case, the connection is simpler:

1 - USB cable from module to computer
2 - VST (Superior Drummer 3) set to read MIDI from module
 

electrodrummer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
258
Reaction score
107
Location
London
David's stock post if it helps
---


Here's the "best" and most flexible way to record edrums

1. Module --> MIDI data --> Software (DAW/Sequencer/whatever the cool kids are calling it these days. I mostly use Cakewalk/Sonar - www.cakewalk.com - which is now free.)

2. Split MIDI data to individual tracks in DAW if you want individual control of all drums / cymbals - usually a simple button push in your software

3. Tidy up MIDI data as necessary, remove duff notes, change tempo, etc

4. Send MIDI back to module[*], whilst recording the audio from the module[*] - this can be done track-by-track, or the whole lot at once, depending on the number of audio tracks you want - every instrument, just a stereo mix-down, or anything in between.

So, now you've got both audio and MIDI. This is most flexible, meaning you can adjust anything in future. Change tempo or instruments or sounds/entire kit, just re-do [3]-[4]


[*] or to your chosen software synth/VST/whatever the cool kids etc...

(full image https://i.snipboard.io/2qwPn4.jpg )

2qwPn4[1].png
 
Last edited:

Drm1979

Very well Known Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
764
Reaction score
606
Sometimes -- in that case, the connection is simpler:

1 - USB cable from module to computer
2 - VST (Superior Drummer 3) set to read MIDI from module
This is what I do too. And my favorite vst is the kvlt2 drums from ugritone. It allows quite a bit of control from mic volumes to drum tuning including cymbals.
 


Top