How to ruin or improve a cymbal

MrYikes

Reaction score
I just bought and received a 18" Glarry cymbal. I paid $18. I got what I expected but now I have a 1082g cymbal I can mess with. I drilled three holes and put roofing nails in them, but I still can't hear the sizzle, I will get some rivets. What other things would you like to do to a cymbal? I do not know how to find info on how to change the sound of a cymbal. Any help? BTW, it's not a terrible sound just not something that I enjoy.

bongomania

DFO Master
Reaction score
IME: easy to ruin, difficult to improve.

I’ve been experimenting with hammering, and I’ve learned a lot, but I’ve also turned about $1000 into shiny trash.

amosguy

DFO Master
Reaction score
Guessing the roofing nails are too heavy to vibrate very much.

Maybe try some pop rivets (uncompressed ......)

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
Glarry.. Oh,

• Made of high quality copper ally, 18" in size
  • Offer you melodious tinkle sound when you hit the cymbal top
  • Dig out your deep desire to play crazy and shocking melody
  • Designed for sincere and professional drummers or someone having extremely great enthusiasm on playing the drum

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
That sounds like a cymbal you would drill a hole in to hang on top of your hihats; or place on top of another cymbal or on a drum...
get semi-creative with it without hammering it

then again, it's (entirely?) Copper, so probably maybe, would hammer pretty easily, over a soft wood stump, careful taps with a round-peen hammer...

MrYikes

Reaction score