header.nohb.html

How to study Ben Riley?

Pibroch

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I am only a relative beginner drummer at the level of playing in an amateur pop rock/blues covers band, but am aiming to eventually get good enough to be a fill in drummer for local jazz players.

Have just commenced studying Ben Riley but finding it difficult to find any analyses of his playing, apart from this gem of an interview with the man himself which includes this statement of his:

"I’m working on a book now with Don Sickler that uses my drumming excerpts as examples of drum accompaniment styles. It was interesting to sit down and analyze my drumming, because it made me aware of things in my playing that I wasn’t conscious of."

(Can't find anything more about the content of this proposed book.)

For those familiar with this drummer, what is your take on what else to think about, or listen for in his playing, that possibly enabled him to become one of the pre-eminent drum set accompanists in jazz?

Reactions: Dem

Griener

Reaction score
Why don't you ask Don Sickler? He has a website.
I certainly would be interested in this book as well.
A friend of mine wrote a thesis comparing the styles of Frankie Dunlop, Ben Riley and Roy Haynes while working with Monk.
Unfortunately it's written in German and I only have a print copy.
But I can ask her, if she has a pdf version as well.

Rallaei

Reaction score
A friend of mine wrote a thesis comparing the styles of Frankie Dunlop, Ben Riley and Roy Haynes while working with Monk.

Sounds like pretty interesting topic.

Re: Ben Riley - just listen to all recordings of him... listen listen listen - and then try to copy.

Imitate - assimilate - innovate!

Pibroch

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Could you please? I have a son who both drums and reads and speaks German - I don't - and English. (He lives in Berlin.)

Last edited:

thenuge

Very well Known Member
Reaction score