How Would Modern Technology Shape You as a Drummer?

SpinaDude

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Posting on the thread about our first kits made me think back to this...when I start playing as a teenager in the mid 80's, there didn't seem to be a ton of information out there about drums. I had an excellent teacher who showed me a lot about technique and genres. He tried to really open me up to learn more about different forms of music. But that only went so far. He also gave me the very basics on tuning, but that's about it. Other than getting Modern Drummer once a month, the occasional concert or drum clinic VHS and watching drummers on MTV (which I always hated) there wasn't a lot of information out there for a young drummer.

The first time I remember hearing the terms bearing edge and snare bed, was in 2010 when I started playing again. Now there is such an incredible wealth of knowledge and resources out there for drummers, I wonder how it would have changed my learning and playing experience as a kid. Just about anything you want to know is a Google or YouTube search away. Obviously we're always learning and growing, or at least have the ability to do both, but it is so much different when you're a kid; your mind is open, your body is able to respond and adapt better. Your boundaries are further away.