Hybrid kit multipad

JonnyFranchi$e

Reaction score
Hey all. I'm an acoustic drummer. But I keep thinking it would be really fun in a live context to have some samples. For certain songs or solos or whatever.

Here's what I would like:

- Vintage like 70s and 80s synthesizer drums. Like those Simmons kits from in the day where the toms are like "deeeuw deeeuw" - and the 80s gated reverb snares.

- Also some interesting percussion sounds - world drums, basic percussion.

- Good presets and simple to use -- so I can do my homework to get the sounds I want, create my own sets and then load them SUPER easy live

- Reasonably priced.

Initially I like the Yamaha DTX muti thingy. I have a DTX electro kit at home. So the snare and kick and stuff would already be compatible if I ever want to do that.

But are there other options that would better do what I want? Especially the super cheesy vintage drum machine and electro kit sounds. 808 sounds. Vintage Simmons. Etc.

Any advice from those in the know would be helpful.

Not sure I'm gonna go buying anything right away, but I'm curious about this.

Thanks

bpaluzzi

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
The Yamaha DTX Multi 12 has an extremely diverse set of factory sounds, but has very limited ability to import additional sounds (only 64MB of storage)

The Roland SPD-SX has a much more limited factory set, but has a lot more storage space (4GB or 16GB, depending on the version).

The Roland also has a simpler interface, but lacks some of the deep MIDI capabilities that the Yamaha does.

I put together a video that contrasts these two models specifically:

There's also the Alesis Strike Pro Multipad. It has decent reviews, but I haven't personally used one.

bassanddrum84

Very well Known Member
Reaction score