I have Gone Full Circle on Bass Drum Pedals. Here's my Truth

kenshireen1

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I have been playing for 50 years although music was not my primary career.

I started using a Pearl 810 in the 70's and got rid of it in the 80's when all the latest and greatest came around.
I tried them all (practically). Single pedal only. SK, Ghost, Floating Action, Swivo, Premier 252, Camco, Carolina, and everything from that era and forward to today.
Probably have bought and sold over 50 pedals and tried many more.

I play heel down and always leaned towards a direct drive or strap but preferred the latter.. Never liked the feel of chain pedals.

I went back to my Pearl 810 last year. It just felt so solid under my foot and I liked the spring on top and the easy side mount adjustment.
But just to give myself one last and final, and I do mean final shot, I purchased a DW 6000 strap for $160.

When I got it out of the box it was light, fast and smooth and I figured this may be my holy grail.
I replaced my 810 with this and practiced on it for a few days. Did all kinds of drills..trips, quads, syncopation etc.
It felt fine although the foot plate was bit narrow, it was a pain to attach to the bass and the velcro on the heel plate stuck to my rug big time.

Then I put my 810 back and did all the same exercises.. I found that my foot was more comfortable, I was able to do all the acrobatics at the same speed as the DW,
was easier to attach to the bass, had more stability, easier to adjust the spring, had a much stronger strap, gave me more control and was less fatiguing (probably due to the wider FB

So.... the DW 6000 (which in my opinion is greatly overpriced and I used for 2 days) goes on Ebay and if anyone out there has a Pearl 810 lying around please let me know and I will buy it from you

Bluenote

Very well Known Member
Reaction score