"I make cymbals for people that don’t like beautiful sounds"

thenuge

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
“ I make cymbals for people that don’t like beautiful sounds.

I am a drummer. I was a drummer. When I started making cymbals I didn’t have any knowledge about how to make cymbals. But more than this I discovered that no one knows how to make hand hammered cymbals because it’s a secret trade. I mean, you cannot find any book explaining how to make a cymbal. So if you want to make your own cymbals you have to start from a piece of bronze, and then try to understand yourself what to do.

When I make a cymbal, maybe you won’t believe it, but after 20 years of making cymbals, I take the cymbal home, and while I’m having dinner, I put the cymbal on a table or chair; I put some lights on it to see all of the hammering, because I need to understand what I did. When I’m here, I finish the cymbal but to really understand the quality of the cymbal I have to use it, I have to know it, I have to play with it, I have to stay with him - with it. I say “him” because I feel like it’s a person. I can talk with him, in a way. I would really like to ask him, “what can I do for you? To find a way to perfect you.” But he can not answer - I mean I cannot understand what he’s saying. I would like to invent a software to have this kind of interaction between things and human beings.

When you choose a cymbal, for sure, the first thing you are looking at is the look. Then you try the cymbal you say “oh it sounds great”, but the look - it’s so important.

Making a comparison with human beings, it’s like a beautiful woman, but, flat, basic, I don’t know - with no charisma. Instead maybe you can find a woman with eyes like this (crossed) but, interesting. Maybe with a big soul, or big mind. I don’t know. This is the difference that I like to see in cymbals. I don’t care if the cymbal sounds perfect.