I may come across as a Carter Mclean fanboy but....

DamnSingerAlsoDrums

Reaction score
I was made aware of his work by this forum, a few weeks back and I was blown away by his style, his sound and his general laid back attitude. So I binge watched everything CM I could find and stalked his social media a bit, followed him on Insta. Well the first pick he posted that I received a notification for was this one...
Screenshot_20200805-113609.png

I was quite hapilly surprised because I've been playing a very similar set for a few months now, a late 40's to early 50's WFL. His is a '48. I thought mine was a '51 but I was told by someone it might have been cobbled together from orphan parts.
20200805_113217_HDR.jpg
20200805_113333~2.jpg

DamnSingerAlsoDrums

Reaction score
And yeah! I know my kick is packed with fleece, I've got new neighbors who are a bit more skittish about noise than the half-deaf older gentleman who used to live nextdoor. Aaaaand my stickmarks are way off-center on the snare. The snare skin is old and bears the marks of when I used to play super hard without focussing on where it lands... I drasticaly dropped my stick size and practice intensely on reducing volume and increasing precision.

The snare is a 5x14 Cleveland era Rogers Powertone. I love it. I also have the matching Holiday set in cases at the moment.

The cymbals are Istanbul Agop Mantra 15" hats and Om 22" ride. The crash is an oddball 19" Zildjian Constantinople crash-ride.

Anyway, it's a really fun kit to play, even at low skill level.

rculberson

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Another fanboy here. Carter seems to me to be the perfect blend of groove, chops, sounds and wisdom with his musical choices. Definitely my favorite young lion out there. That latest pop cover he did just sent me over the edge. He's right behind Steve Jordan and Chris Whitten on my top fanboy list.

:D

bpaluzzi

Reaction score