Introduction and first question regarding Tama Star Maple

Moredrums

Reaction score
Hi everyone, my name is Felipe, Im from Chile and drumming is my hobby, I think I should also say Im a collector in this matter. Im 34 y.o. and I started playing at 13, been on and off from it, but latelly and thanks to Corona I have been a lot more into it, taking lessons again and bulding skills. Im a mechanical engineer and I have an attraction for things with 2 wheels. I hope I can contribute here, specially on the technical side, I enjoy tunning and adjusting to perfection, and there is gretsch usa, sonor, yamaha, rogers and since yesterday a tama kit in the collection, and that brings up my question.

I went for a pair of lighter sticks to a drumshop on friday, and I see this beautiful tama set, that looked like a Star maple, but priced closer to a starclassic maple, including matching snare stacked up as a shellpack. So I inspect closer and it really is a Star Maple, inlays, curly maple, blue tinted, clear lacquer, reinforcement rings, Star made in japan inside... Well, went for sticks, went out with a drumset...
Didnt even try it, I knew it was something special. It had never been played, cero stick marks, no scratches, no snare rush, no damage on bass drum hoop, perfect. They just ditched all the boxes and what it came with. Its a 18x22, 16x16, 8x12, 7x10 and 6.5x14 snare, ocean blue curly maple set for 3.660 usd.
The tags on the drums say who inspected it and also the model/code of each drum, and say EAN13 JAN13. Could they be from 2013?
Im wondering what was included in the original boxes, would like to know what I missed. I got the drums and the floor tom legs, thats it, but is just holders I need to get so no problem. Also, who has this drumset, can you share your best tunning results, heads?, would like to know under what settings sings the best.
Thanks a lot guys, regards!

Attachments

NobleCooleyNut

Very well Known Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score