Is my progress on the slow side?

Thinkwriter

Reaction score
New to this forum, people have been helpful and encouraging so thanks. New to drumming, relatively speaking.

I'm a bedroom musician and intermediate-level guitarist. Bought my cheap Alesis late 2017. I practice pretty consistently and bought a minimalist kit (hihat, bass, snare) recently to up my feel for actual drums.

Last year I bought an Adam Tumarino lesson pack for his song Shake It Off. I've been slowly but surely going through the parts of the song. I've memorized 95% of it, but actually making the parts sound right is taking forever. Following most people's advice, I start the bpm slow and bump the speed only when comfortable, and I isolate troublesome parts like 32nd notes and off-note accents. At the rate I'm going, I surmise I'd be able to master it in another two years.

Is the pace too slow? It's okay if that's the case; I just want to know if it is. I have work and I take care of my 3 year old son, but I play drums every chance I get (10-30 min 3-6 times a day). I don't mind the process, just want to manage my expectations. The goal is to get from beginner to intermediate, right?

I have to add I practice a few things on the side sometimes. I bought 8020 Drummer's $5 lesson, and it's great.

Rock Salad

Reaction score
I'm just starting out too. I listened to the song, and a couple years from cold beginner to playing that song well doesn't seem slow to me.

2mm2

Reaction score
I’m also a beginner drummer, I just start 4/5 years ago, But my personal opinion it’s that I’m going quite slowly... maybe because I don’t have enough time to practice or I’m not good enough, but for sure we are going forward!!!!
Some drummers are improving faster than others but IMO it’s a kind of personal challenge just practice and a lot of patience!!! Sometimes you just love drums and next day you hate it hahahaha that’s progresión

thin shell

DFO Master
Reaction score