Is there a dvd that is good for going through the rudiments?

Tigerdrummer

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I want to work on them and I'm a senior and self taught. I was going to focus on each for a period of time but i'm looking for a dvd that shows each one. Any of you know of something like that? Thanks

KevinD

Reaction score
I think the Vic Firth website is very good for rudiment practice. There are recordings of each rudiment so you can hear how they sound, and practice along with. The recordings will increase in speed and bring you along from "Bronze" to "Platinum" level.

http://vicfirth.com/40-essential-rudiments/

In other sections there are rudiment pieces that your can read through and play along with.

Actually, their whole education site in general has a lot of great resources.

http://vicfirth.com/education-resource-library/

Last edited:

EyeByTwoMuchGeer

Reaction score
Tommy Igoe's "Great Hands for a Lifetime" will cover a lot of the basic rudiments that will be applicable to general drumming.

Then, I'd really consider watching this free Drumeo lesson from Stanton Moore, as it details how to take a given rudiment and apply it to the kit. In this Stanton Moore video, its a three stroke RLL motif. I took a lesson with Stanton and we talked only about this concept and it really changed my thinking about how I could approach the drums in a musical and creative way using only a few stickings.

Last edited:

Buffalo_drummer

Reaction score
Tommy Igoe's "Great Hands for a Lifetime" will cover a lot of the basic rudiments that will be applicable to general drumming.