James Gang's Jimmy Fox Recalls Opening for Ginger Baker

TheElectricCompany

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Pretty funny that the article opens with him wanting to befriend Ginger, and Ginger giving him no more than a head nod of acknowledgment. Good article about what Baker's playing meant at the time and his influence today.

Nacci

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Very touching. I think that if Ward has called Baker and told him this, this is how the conversation would have gone.

Ward with is spiel....

Baker: “Feck you Ward you sissy, you can’t swing for shite, I’m a Jazz drummer man, your just a basher with a mismatched kit. Now p*** off.”

This whole Baker passing thing reminds me of an uncle I had that passed when I was in my mid teens, he was about the meanest son of a biscuit you’d ever meet and just as likely to rap you in the teeth with the back of his knuckles as not. I only went to the funeral because my father made me.

There, was assembled a group of people who now canonized the man and a widow who told me that I was one of his favorites and that he loved me. I thought they were insane.

My cousin Shane, two years older, came up to me and said something to the effect of “Well he was a miserable son of a b%#!?” wasn’t he.” I probably said something like “For sure” but do remember thinking how grateful I was for that one person with naked, unchecked honesty.

The saying is that if you can’t say something nice then don’t say anything at all, I think it should be, if you can’t say something true, don’t say anything at all.

Case in point, when Clapton said in “Beware Mr. Baker” that Bonham was no where near The drummer Baker was. That is ludicrous and Baker likely threatens Clapton’s life to get him to say that. Bonham would take Baker to the woodshed any day of the week.

Nacci

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Geez Nacci, You're such a turd........