Jazz Beginner and Hi Hat Size and Weight?

zendrums

Reaction score
Hello Community,

I am brand new to drumming. I am interested in learning to play drums for jazz fusion and folk rock. With jazz fusion being top of mind at the moment, I am trying to hone in on the right hi hat size and weight. My drum set is quite small: a Tama Club Jam Mini--just a bass drum and a snare thus far.

I've been inspired in part by Jeff Hamilton's stick and brush work (although he is more of a jazz drummer than a jazz fusion drummer). While I am not necessarily trying to recreate Jeff's sounds, I figured his hihat cymbal specs might be good to mirror. I think he plays:
  • Crescent 14” Hammertone Hi Hats: "Thin Top" and a "Medium Bottom"
I have listened to internet samples of Crescent, Bosphorus, Soultone and Zildjian. While I understand 14" is kind of the standard for many jazz and rock players, I liked 13" the best. I have placed an order for:
  • Zildjian 13" S Family Mastersound Hi Hats: "Medium Top" and "Heavy Bottom"
While they haven't arrived yet, I am wondering if the following might be a better fit:
  • Zildjian 13" I Family Hi Hats: "Medium Thin Top" and "Medium Bottom"
Budget is an issue which is why I am considering Zildjian's "S" and "I" families. Any advice would be helpful!

Rock Salad

Reaction score
There's one guy on here really loves those S series cymbals. I might have gone for the lighter ones but, shoot, got hats is way better than no hats. Plus, you never really know till you have played on them for a bit.

Seb77

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
The standard answer when it comes to budget cymbals around here is get some used old As :)

The I series sounds quite meaty already, but should be ok for quieter playing, too:

Master sound hats are often quite loud, maybe too loud for jazz:

Tama CW

DFO Veteran
Reaction score