Jeff Porcaro tuning tips

SamuelPepys

Reaction score
Hello! This is my first post here. Not a professional drummer by any means, but a professional studio engineer, so I'm not experienced with the more unusual tuning techniques out there the way real drummers are, just how we do it in the studio.

I've been kind of into the late 70's, early 80' snare sound (before they put all their reverb on the thing).
I found this quote by Jeff from about 78' about how he tunes his snares for studio dates.

"As far as snare drums go, I recently hit upon something that's a little hard to talk about, but you have to hear it on records! A lot of them like that big, fat, meaty snare drum like you hear on Fleetwood Mac. That real thick sound. I use a 6 1/2 metal snare with the bottom head pretty tight and the snares going all the way across. I put the top head on and use a splicing block, like those used for splicing tape, or something about that size. I put it together with some foam, and I wrap a piece of leather around and lay it so the foam is resting against the head. I don't like any internal muffling, or cloth with tape. A wallet sounds good on top of the snare. The top head is tuned loose, to where each lug is about to fall off. Start hitting it with the snares real loose and raise the pitch of the head from that position, tightening the snares slightly. Within about three rotations, you've got yourself a nice sounding snare drum. I keep the top heads loose and the bottom heads tight on my toms to get the pitch to bend a little"

First of all: what does he mean by "snare going all the way across"? Was there ever any other way? Again, not a drummer so I have no clue.