Late to the game (discovering Joe Morello --- WOW!)

ButchA

Reaction score
I know I'm still somewhat of a "newbie" on here and I have an Alesis E-drum kit. I'm not that skilled of a drummer, mainly self taught, and lefthanded...

However, I watched some YouTube clips of the world famous, legendary, Buddy Rich. Everybody on earth has heard of Buddy Rich! However, his abrasiveness, and overall "military D.I." type of manners towards bandmates, turned me off. Then I discovered Joe Morello with the Dave Brubeck Quartet (i.e. the famous hit "Take Five"), and started learning more about Joe Morello. What an incredible drummer with amazing skills! AND... he was darn near blind as well! :salute: Next up: Learning more about Gene Krupa and the rhythm pattern to "Sing, Sing, Sing"...

These guys were all incredible, legendary, and seriously influential! The history is mind boggling! So many famous drummers to learn about! Hopefully this forum can help too!

JimmySticks

DFO Veteran
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Morello was a real treasure and a nice guy.

But don't give up on Buddy Rich. Read his book, One of a Kind. You'll learn a lot about why he was the way he was and also consider they were different times. That's the way it was in the jazz world back then, pre snowflake, and Buddy wasn't the worst of them.

Check out Louie Bellson and Ed Shaugnessy as well. All great players.

bigbonzo

DFO Star
Reaction score

But don't give up on Buddy Rich. Read his book, One of a Kind. You'll learn a lot about why he was the way he was and also consider they were different times. That's the way it was in the jazz world back then, pre snowflake, and Buddy wasn't the worst of them.

Joe, Louie and Ed are 3 of 4 of my favorite jazz drummers. The 4th is Kenny Clarke.

ButchA

Reaction score