Lightweight snare stands

Tomb

Very well Known Member
Reaction score

the_dude

Possibly DFO's Worst Drummer
Reaction score
I've never tried the Yamaha but I do use the Tama. I haven't found any negatives while using it.
The tilter doesn't slip and I like the fact that it has a memory lock for height and that you can tilt and lift your snare out of the basket without loosening the arms. I like to pack my cymbals and drums in their cases before I break down my stands and pack them away.
I know you didn't mention the DW lightweight stuff which I also own but I just want to say the Tama snare stand is FAAAAR superior to the DW.
I'm sure the Yamaha is a great stand since they make quality stuff.

xsabers

World's Second Most Okayest Drummer
Reaction score
I've been using the Yamaha for several months and I love it. Weighs next to nothing. The TAMA doesn't look as bulky though.

bongomania

DFO Master
Reaction score
I was using the Tama for a few months, and I liked everything about it—the light weight, clean look, stability. But the more I used it, the more the tripod clamp area got “sticky”, hard to fold and unfold into position. I think it’s an unavoidable side effect of clamping on such small thin tubing. I have switched to a Gibraltar lightweight that so far has not had the same problem.

halldorl

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Been using the Tama a lot the past months. No issues. It was holding a heavy drum at tonights gig, a 7x14” Copper.

C2A85B78-1802-45A6-AA63-5AEE98BF64DC.jpeg

Mcjnic

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Tama flat stuff has been phenomenally good for me. Really strong and simple and has never slipped its disco or stripped the flow. Just a remarkable achievement in fit, form, and functionality.

ZackPomerleau

Reaction score
I have the Tama and I find if you're using a 5" drum it's way too short. My arm is bent down at its highest setting. Unless I'm missing some mysterious height setting.

Rich K.

DFO Master
Reaction score