Long Time, First Time

sw532121

Reaction score
Greetings from Tennessee!

I've been a long time lurker. I actually created my account in 2009, but I've never posted until today. I've always enjoyed the conversation, and the wealth of information that I've found here.

A little about me. I'm just a drum nerd. I was a working drummer in (and around) Nashville for about 10 years. I still play a handful of gigs a year, but haven't pursued serious work since 2010. Like many, I've taken the opportunity during the pandemic to revisit the drums. Well, the drum bug bit me hard, and I'm all in! The drum industry seems to have grown by quite a bit in the last decade, and I love all of the smaller boutique offerings. I've always been a gear nerd, and I'm looking forward to trying some new gear.

While I'd conservatively estimate that I've played 1000 gigs or so (equating to 2500ish hours of stage time), I would guess that I have spent less than 100 hours actually studying the instrument. This is where my focus is now turning, and I'm attempting to "learn" the instrument in a more formal sense. Unlearning my bad habits is hard, but I am enjoying the challenge.

I look forward to participating in the conversation!

Evan

JimmySticks

Very well Known Member
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
2009!? I wasn't born yet! :icon_lol:

Welcome to the forum, or should I say, welcome to the conversation. There is a lot of info here from a lot of good guys. They have me spending big money on drums though, so I actually hate em all!:-D

Have fun!

Rock Salad

Very well Known Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Right on
Please share your thoughts on the things you work on. I pretty much get all my study materials here and it helps! Then the critique I get at the gig and at practice, and on rare occasions here.
Glad you found the time to type

sw532121

Reaction score
Thanks for the warm welcome everyone!