Ludwig 3 Ply Shells Tonal Differences

Black Label

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have 2 x blue / olive 13" maple poplar maple toms and another 1965 13" with a mahogany poplar mahogany shell. I love the vintage sound of all 3, but to my ears there's quite a distinct difference in sound between the maple and mahogany shells (coated ambassadors on all) with the mahogany sounding warmer and a bit more resonant. It's as if there is a rather marked difference in the fundamental pitch / note (I hope this is the right term). I am by no means an expert on these shells and most certainly do not have trained ear - I can hardly tell the difference between chip board and oak :)razz::razz::razz:) and that is why it surprised me that I actually noticed the difference between these shells. Is it only my untrained ear or is there a rather marked difference between these shells? Keep safe guys.

Rotarded

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
My experience (currently own a 1964 3ply Ludwig kit, and both 3ply maple and mahogany snares), and have had multiple maple plied kits (and snares) in different ply configurations, is that the Mahogany shells have a rich low and mid range, with somewhat lesser/muted highs. Whereas the maple has good low-mid range, with more pronounced highs. My simplistic description is this: Mahogany fills the room with warmth, Maple fills the room with sound.

studrum

DFO Master
Reaction score
Plus, we are fairly certain that the B/O era drums have sharper bearing edges than the earlier drums. I think you get more "cut" with the maple/poplar/maple shells, but I really dig the throaty roar of my early 60's mahogany/poplar/mahoganies.

Seb77

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
It's as if there is a rather marked difference in the fundamental pitch / note (I hope this is the right term).