ludwig? 3ply shell identify help!

fivestarkid

Reaction score
I just bought a 12 and 16" clear 3 ply? set of drums advertised as 70's ludwig rockers. previous owner said they sounded amazing. price was cheap. couldn't resist. im not a Ludwig expert but I didn't think Ludwig made 3 ply rockers or rockers with rings. early rockers were reported using standard lugs and 4 ply shells but nobody ever mentions if they had rings...that's the mystery I guess. they came with 2 Ludwig medium ensemble coated heads on batter. no badge as the first owner ( im third ) did a D.I.Y. on these and im assuming unwrapped them and tried to stain them. doesn't look bad but never replaced the badge and the outter plies took a little bit of it a hit. a bunch of hairline cracks. but im gonna re wrap these I think. especially if these are the 3 ply Ludwig classic maple shells.

Attachments

Last edited:

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
I don't know much about Rockers, but I do know those are not Rocker lugs (I mean, they LOOK like them but are not them!), nor does the tom mount look Ludwigy or the FT leg mount......and it's odd that the screws have cups on the insides. Those are usually used for metal shells as the shell is thin and the screws are too long. They do look like maple in and out (not MIJ luan) but they look refinished on the outside, too. I also want to say the reinforcing rings is too short.

What is the lug hole spacing? It should be 1.25" (classic small) or 1.75" (classic large).
Rocker's use the same hole spacing but are just rounded lugs....

Mcjnic

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Early edition Standard Lugs with the correct washers inside.

fivestarkid

Reaction score