Ludwig Breakbeats

DrumWhipper

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Anyone else playing them!

Here’s my set up: Standard Breakbeats with a Blackrolite snare, 14 inch hats, 17 and 19 inch crashes, 21 inch ride, and 19 inch holy china.

8F8978A7-0244-4982-B047-F5C79F8C9645.jpeg

30550412-A247-484E-AAA2-14DA0F39641B.jpeg

ARGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
I have that same set. I did a trade for it, and I would gig with it. It did have a few quality control problems, mainly with the tension rods. When I got the snare drum, 2 of the tension rods were so jammed in place that I had to remove the heads and lugs and cut the tension rods with a hacksaw. I replaced the rods and swivel nuts and the drum actually sounds decent. As a result of that I removed all the tension rods and ran them through a 12/24 die and cleaned up all the threads - some of them were really bad. Now that I've done that, it's a nice portable kit that looks nice as well. I have a cymbal arm that I would use for the ride that fits the tom holder, so I could get by with one cymbal stand.

Matched Gripper

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Anyone else playing them!

Here’s my set up: Standard Breakbeats with a Blackrolite snare, 14 inch hats, 17 and 19 inch crashes, 21 inch ride, and 19 inch holy china.

View attachment 454931

View attachment 454934
They had one on the floor at GC set up with Pinstripes all the way around. Sounded great, but, the BD riser design didn’t allow the pedal sprocket to clear the BD hoop. They had the pedal resting on the floor next to the riser.

Also, apparently, blue sparkle is no longer offered.

halldorl

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
A friend of mine has a kit. It was a bit problematic to tune in the beginning. I told him to check the edges and they were all over the place so he had the kit re-edged by a pro. Sounds great now.

TheBeachBoy

Ringo Fire
Reaction score