Ludwig COW

wayne

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Just acquired this very dirty old 8 lugger snare without a badge. I can see the outline of where it was either a blk and white or green /?. Its in tact but I cant see why its as heavy as it is? I have no experience with these shells, so is the chrome that's adding the weight, and what were the shells made of?..Looks like poplar/ maple to me.
Its in tact, minus snare wires and bottom hoop, but man is it dirty. Were these a student drum back then?

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Star
Reaction score
No pics. I had an 80s Chrome over wood with a blue Olive badge. The chrome was plastic drum wrap and it was only glued at the seam. It came off easily and revealed I believe four Plies of maple which I stained in Walnut.

wayne

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
My shell is heavy with BT lugs, original butt and throw, and even the muffler. I cant see any serial number, but could it be somewhere hidden? It also has one small rivet below the throw to hold the wrap in place, which is VERY TIGHT.
Not sure how long COW was offered, but were there good/better/ best versions of these?. Mine seems to be very well made, and as filthy as it is, I trust it will clean up

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Star
Reaction score
Lucky you! Mine had standard lugs which I hated. Had they been BT, I would have kept as a poor man's Jazz Fest. It had a P85 and P83 and it did sound good. I got it for cheap though and traded for a set of Manhattan jazz hats so it was too good a deal to pass up. Mine did not have any rivets. Just a nice tight wrap that came off easily. I don't have pics.....

drumtimejohn

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I have one. 4 ply maple/poplar. Chicago, pre Rocker, preserial B/W, and probably S/L or similar. I believe it’s the same shell of its B/O cousin but with tan vs clear interior. I gather its a Second. As noted, it’s a great poor mans jazz festival and the plastic wrap can be easily removed.

Attachments

BRIAN

Very well Known Member