Matt Nolan Tony Williams ride cymbal

curly

Reaction score
We rightly rave about Craig Lauritsen, Lasse Funch, and others who are making incredible cymbals. Having been a cymbalholic for some two decades now, in some ways we are living in a rich era of very talented cymbalsmiths. Matt Nolan kinda flies under the radar a bit because he doesn't do much with social media and, I think, does much of his work in the orchestral space.

But he can make some righteous cymbals. Check this out

IMG-2972.jpg

IMG-2973.jpg

IMG-2969.jpg

IMG-2968.jpg

IMG-2971.jpg

22 and ~2450 on my kitchen scale. Simply a joy to play. Please forgive the relatively sloppy playing, I'm just learning this cymbal and have gotten used to playing 24's recently, which respond quite differently than this beast. Beautiful woody stick with a higher fundamental, swirling wash, activate-able trash with shanks, and a roaring crash. Can't wait to spend some time learning this one. I don't know for sure it's a Tony Williams inspired ride but it's characteristics lead me there. This was not a custom order, but a cymbal Matt made for PASIC that didn't sell (which is crazy to me).

Ptrick

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
One of my favorite times hanging out after NAMM was with the two Matt’s (Nolan and Bettis). Had a blast and learned a lot (and ate some good food). I’ve always respected his work, yet somehow never owned one? Nice pick up.

Pedal_Pusher

Reaction score
Matt's makes very nice cymbals and metal percussion. I have a pair of high hats and a flat ride that I bought at his PASIC booth. I also found a 20" Pinstripe B15 (?) for sale locally and snagged that. If you get a chance to visit a PASIC in Indianapolis you can hear the quality and I recommend that you visit his booth very early to purchase. I have to confess that I also bought a wonderful small triangle from Matt even though I am retired from the steady tuxedo gigs. Check out his sculptural gongs by the way.

owr

Very well Known Member