Maybe not more, but less is sometimes better

frankmott

Humble (drum) shop-keeper
Reaction score
At the gig last night, I realized that as my grooves improve, I'm playing less: Quarter notes on the ride, rather than eights (or swing pattern); fewer, or even no ghost-notes on the snare; far fewer fills; fewer cymbal crashes; BD just on one and three -- or sometimes just one!

That way, when I do play a fill, or even just a crash, or busy up the groove a bit during a guitar solo, it's much more dramatic.

And you know what? It's working better than ever. I've been playing drums pretty steadily for 52 years, and I think I'm starting to get the hang of it!

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
when accompanying and surrounded by good players might it be you don't have to add a lot beyond skeletal framework. it's a real nice place to be. and to the audience you're directing a very simple up and down message. my last gig was like that and I'll tell ya never been happier.

it's like (you're) keeping a lid on a (boiling) pot..
(it) doesn't get any better (imho)

Last edited:

GeeDeeEmm

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
At the gig last night, I realized that as my grooves improve, I'm playing less: Quarter notes on the ride, rather than eights (or swing pattern); fewer, or even no ghost-notes on the snare; far fewer fills; fewer cymbal crashes; BD just on one and three -- or sometimes just one!

That way, when I do play a fill, or even just a crash, or busy up the groove a bit during a guitar solo, it's much more dramatic.

And you know what? It's working better than ever. I've been playing drums pretty steadily for 52 years, and I think I'm starting to get the hang of it!
What you've just described, Frank, is exactly what I'm finding with my own playing - and also with 50+ years behind the kit. I thought it was just me. Good to know that others are experiencing the same trend. Is it just our age?

GeeDeeEmm

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
Yes we're getting nearer the end ;)