header.nohb.html

Mod Orange Downbeat

wflkurt

Deafus Maximus
Reaction score
I know some of you guys saw this on Facebook but in case you haven't, I'll post here. Many that know me have known that I have wanted a Mod Orange downbeat for many many years. In fact I started collecting drums right after I graduated high school in 1990 and I always told myself that I would look for a set like John Densmore as I fell in love with his little set after seeing the video of the Doors at the Hollywood Bowl. Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought that finding one would be so tough. Over the years I have managed to obtain a 1969 super classic as well as a 1971 clubdate. I even found a 1970 Mod Orange canister throne before I owned any Mod Orange set! I'd say maybe around 10 years or so I totally lucked into finding a really nice condition 14x14. I would certainly think the hardest piece to find and was able to at least use it with my 1969 super classic. A few years ago I met a guy on facebook that bought a 1970 22,13,16 Mod Orange and it came with an odd late 60's Mod Orange 8x12. He agreed to sell me the odd 8x12 and it was a really good match to my 14x14. neither drum has a date stamp but both serials are pretty close and if I were to guess, I would probably say late 1968 as both drums are close in serial number to my psychedelic red rock duo as those drums are stamped Dec 12 1968. I figured all I had to do now was wait for the drums Gods to send me a late 1960's 14x20 Mod Orange bass drum that was drilled for a rail and cymbal mount. No problem right? A few weeks ago the guy (Shawn) that sold me the 12" tom (we have become friendly through facebook now) hipped me to an instagram post by Nelson's drum shop out of Nashville. They had a few storage units full of old vintage drum singles and in the video they had, they whipped past a Mod Orange bass drum and Shawn saw it. The video was not the best quality and if I blinked I may have missed the bass drum all together.