monitor suggestions

stevil

Very well Known Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm relatively new to the world of e-drums. So far I've gotten by a-ok playing through headphones, but recently I've had my guitarists over and would like to get something so I could play audibly. They're using small practice amps. Researching options online I found the Roland PM-100 and PM-200, as well as a Behringer Eurolive B112D. One of these days we might use Yamaha Sessioncakes or another mixer + headphone set up, but for now I'd like a monitor.

What have you used and enjoyed? Anything to avoid?

Tymp2002

Reaction score
Avoid all guitar amps, all bass amps, and drum amps that cost less than $300. Cheap drum amps sound cheap.

You don't have to go with drum amps, but if you do, get one in the $300-$500 range. The Roland PM-100 and PM-200 fall into this category. And you get the Roland legendary quality, reliability, and re-sale value. (Same with their e-drums.) But there are other good choices as well.

Keyboard amps are ok too, and what I used before. (Roland KA-500)

On the high-end, and the most expensive, is a good quality PA system with sub-woofer.

If it were me, I would go with one that has the connectivity and power to use as one of the speakers of a PA system. For example, start with one Simmons DA2012B, and later add another when you are ready for stereo sound. Then if/when your band plays live, add a sub-woofer.

My 2 cents. Here is some expert advice:

65 Drums - Drum Amps

Frank Godiva

DFO Master
Reaction score

stevil

Very well Known Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Thanks! This is helpful stuff
Avoid all guitar amps, all bass amps, and drum amps that cost less than $300. Cheap drum amps sound cheap.